Board Members

Nine board members serve as the policy-setting body for the Board. Seven of the members are appointed by the Governor, one by the Senate President Pro-Tempore, and one by the Assembly Speaker. Board members include five registered nurses and four public members. The current board members are:

Name Classification Appointing Authority Appointment Date Term Expiration
Dolores Trujillo, RN - President Direct Patient Care Member Governor January 21, 2020 June 1, 2022
Mary Fagan, PhD, RN, NEA-BC - Vice President Nurse Services Administration Governor August 10, 2020 June 1, 2023
Imelda Ceja-Butkiewicz Public Member Governor February 6, 2014 June 1, 2021
Jovita Dominguez, BSN, RN Nurse Educator Member Governor February 19, 2021 June 1, 2024
Susan Naranjo Public Member

Speaker of the Assembly

November 16, 2020 June 1, 2024
Elizabeth (Betty) Woods, RN, FNP, MSN Advanced Practice Member Governor July 18, 2018 June 1, 2022
Patricia "Tricia" Wynne, Esq. Public Member Governor December 20, 2021 June 1, 2025

Dolores Trujillo, RN - President

Dolores Trujillo

Dolores Trujillo of Sacramento has been appointed to the Board of Registered Nursing by Governor Newsom. She is a Registered Nurse who previously worked as an ICU Charge Nurse and Peds ICU Nurse at Kaiser Sacramento between 2000-2010. Ms. Trujillo has been working at Kaiser Roseville as a bedside Neonatal ICU nurse from 2010 to present.

Mary Fagan, PhD, RN, NEA-BC - Vice President

Mary Fagan

Mary Fagan, PhD, RN, NEA-BC is the Vice President for Patient Care Services and Chief Nursing Officer at Rady Children’s Hospital San Diego. She received her Bachelor’s Degree in Nursing at St. Louis University, a Master’s Degree in Nursing from Yale University and a PhD in Nursing from the University of San Diego. She practiced as a Peds ICU Nurse and Educator in St. Louis, MO and New Haven, CT and has been with Rady Children’s Hospital since 1987 in various roles including Manager and Director of Critical Care Services, Quality Management Director and has been the Chief Nursing Officer since 2010.

Imelda Ceja-Butkiewicz

Imelda Ceja-Butkiewicz

Imelda Ceja-Butkiewicz is a Project Specialist at Kern County Public Health Services Department since 1999. She has served in multiple positions at the Kern County Department of Public Health, including the Medi-Cal Outreach Program, Maternal Child Disability Program, Child Health and Disability Program, Kern Access to Children’s Health Program, Child’s Dental Program, Refugee Health Assessment Program and is currently working with individuals living with HIV/AIDS.

Ms. Ceja-Butkiewicz was raised in Southern California, where she attended schools at Baldwin Park and Cal Poly Pomona. She later moved to Bakersfield where she worked as legal secretary from 1986 to 1995. She also held multiple positions at the Kern County Economic Opportunity Corporation (aka Community Action Partnership of Kern) from 1995 to 1998, including immunization coordinator, health educator and Medi-Cal outreach coordinator.

Ms. Ceja-Butkiewicz is a member, a community advocate and has served on several professional and community organizations, including the Kern Homeless Collaborative, International Women’s Program, Central Democratic Party Committee, Democratic Women of Kern (past President), Inyo, Kern Central Labor Council and Service International Union local 521.

Jovita Dominguez, BSN, RN

Jovita Dominguez

Jovita Dominguez, BSN, RN, was appointed by Governor Newsom in the Nurse Educator Role. She has taught as a clinical instructor in medical/surgical and pediatric units for Hartnell College for 22 years. She is employed by Salinas Valley Memorial Hospital for 33 years as a progressive care nurse and currently works in Observation Care Unit as a designated charge nurse. Her past experience has been in Emergency Department, Post Anesthesia Care Unit, Endoscopy, Outpatient Surgical, Pre and post Cardiac Catherization Unit, Diagnostic Imaging nursing. She is a member of California Nurses Association and American Society of PeriAnesthesia Nurses. She received her BSN from San Jose State.

Susan Naranjo

Susan Naranjo

Appointed by Speaker Anthony Rendon, Susan Naranjo is the Public Affairs Director and staff executive team member of the Committee of Interns and Residents CIR-SEIU. Susan was raised in San Ysidro, California. For more than 10 years, Susan has worked with workers across multiple industries to form and strengthen their union at their workplace and advance policies that protect working families.

She holds a BA in Political Science from California State University, San Bernardino.

Elizabeth (Betty) Woods, RN, FNP, MSN

Elizabeth (Betty) Woods, RN, FNP, MSN

Elizabeth (Betty) Woods, RN, FNP, MSN is a volunteer Nurse Practitioner at the Jewish Community Free Clinic in Rohnert Park, Ca., which serves the uninsured population in Sonoma Co.

Previously Ms. Woods was a Labor Representative with the California Nurses Association, representing RNs and NPs, from 1994 to 2007. Within this position she coordinated the Quality Liaison Program, a joint program between CNA and Kaiser Permanente, wherein RNs and NPs examined patient care issues in order to increase quality services.

She was a FNP at Kaiser Permanente, Santa Rosa from 1976 to 1994 in Family Medicine and also a member of the HIV Consult Team. From 1984 to 1994 she was an Adjunct Clinical Professor for NP students at Sonoma State University, and from 1982 to 1988 a NP Sexual Assault Examiner at Sonoma County Community Hospital.

Before earning her NP certification and MSN from Sonoma State University, Ms. Woods was an ICU and medical/surgical RN.

Patricia "Tricia" Wynne, Esq.

Patricia "Tricia" Wynne, Esq.

Patricia "Tricia" Wynne of Aptos was appointed to the California Board of Registered Nursing by the Governor. She was Deputy State Treasurer in the Office of the State Treasurer from 2006 to 2013. She was Special Assistant Attorney General in the Office of the California State Attorney General from 1998 to 2006, Policy Director to State Senate President Pro Tempore Bill Lockyer from 1994 to 1998, and Senate Judiciary Committee Counsel for Chairman Bill Lockyer from 1983 to 1994. She earned a Juris Doctor degree from the University of San Diego School of Law.