Applicant Enforcement Webinar
The target audience for the California Board of Registered Nursing Applicant Enforcement Webinar includes pre-licensure students and first-time applicants for licensure in California with a history of criminal conviction or discipline against another professional license.
Questions and Answers
The following is a summary of the original live Webinar Question and Answer session:
- Q: What if, after 15 years, the agency records have been purged and are no longer available?
- A: The applicant should request a written, certified document from the ARRESTING AGENCY that the arrest record is no longer available. It is uncommon for criminal COURT records to be purged.
- Q: Is scanning all the documents and uploading them with my application the best method of submission or should I mail them to the Board?
- A: Scanning and uploading the documents to your application is the best method. This ensures the documents are included with your application, eliminates any possibility your documents are mishandled or misplaced in the mail process, and ensures the documents are ready for review the day the Enforcement Division is reviewing your application.
- Q: Can you clarify which infractions or traffic violations are reportable?
- A: Only report infractions and traffic violations with a fine in excess of $1,000. These are very rare.
- Q: Should I have my record expunged before applying for licensure?
- A: Any applicant may pursue expungement of their criminal record if they are eligible. However, an expungement does not change the applicant’s responsibility to report the conviction and provide the required documents. Even if the conviction is expunged, the BRN will review and consider the conviction in the application review.
- Q: Should criminal charges that are dropped or dismissed before conviction be reported?
- A: No. Applicants are only required to report convictions. Applicants are not required to report arrests with no formal criminal charges filed.
- Q: Is it correct that applicants no longer have to mail in the original documents if legibile copies are uploaded to the BreEZe online application?
- A: That is correct. Originals do not have to mailed to the Board as long as legible, color copies of certified documents are included with the application. Keep these documents for your records.
- Q: The board sends denial letters by US Mail. Does this also apply to approvals?
- A: Yes. Once approved, the applicant will received a letter by US Mail with instructions to register for the NCLEX Exam.
- Q: What can I do to best demonstrate my competence with a 5-to-10 year old conviction?
- A: Your required Letter of Explanation and optional Letters of Reference should attest to your rehabilitation, education efforts, and life changes that ensure you will be a safe RN. Letters of Reference should come from someone who knows about your past conviction/discipline and can attest to your ability to be a safe and competent RN.
- Q: How soon prior to graduation should we upload these documents?
- A: The documents should be uploaded when you submit your application for licensure. Because no action will be taken until final transcripts are received from your school, the BRN recommends no sooner than two weeks prior to graduation.
- Q: Juvenile convictions are not reportable, right?
- A: If you were tried and convicted as an adult (rare), you must report it. Otherwise, Juvenile Court convictions are not required to be reported.
- Q: What do I do if the arresting agency refuses to release an arrest record to me?
- A: Please include an additional document with your application, explaining why the document is not included. You should make sure you inform the BRN of your attempts to obtain this document on your own. Include the name and address of the arresting agency. Because this scenario will require BRN staff to obtain the missing documents, the applicant should expect a delayed response.