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ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSE

Section 12517.2 Vehicle Code Amended
Schoolbus Driver: Medical Examination

Legislation enacted 2007-2008 Session

Effective January 1, 2008 AB 139, (Bass), Chapter 158, is an act to amend
Section 12517.2 of the Vehicle Code, relating to vehicles: schoolbus drivers:
medical examinations.

UPDATE

January 1, 2012 DMV Announces New CDL Medical Exam Guide

A new version of the California Medical Examination Report (DL 51)

ltems added, that are mandated by Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations
(FMCSR) Electronic version of DL 51 Medical Examination Report, can be
downloaded from the department’s website at:
http://app.dmv.ca.gov/form/dI51.pdf.

Medical Examiners who would like an electronic PDF version of the new
Physician Guide for Commercial Driver License Medical Examinations may email
the DMV from a medical business e-mail account. Email your request to
dmvlodmedicalpublications@dmv.ca.gov. For those who would prefer a paper
version mailed, please call (916) 657-6550.

Department of Motor Vehicles
Licensing Operations Division
Commercial Licensing Policy
2570 24" Street M/S J-152
Sacramento, CA 95818

(916) 657-6550

Existing law required an applicant for an original or renewal certificate to drive a
schoolbus, school activity bus, youth bus, general public para-transit vehicle, or
farm labor vehicle, to submit to the Department of Motor Vehicles a report of a
medical physician’s examination of the applicant given not more than 2 years
prior to the application date. This bill would authorize the medical examination to
be given by a licensed advanced practice registered nurse who is qualified to
perform a medical examination, or a licensed physician assistant.
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The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 12517.2 of the Vehicle Code is amended to read:

12517.2 (a) Applicants for an original or renewal certificate to drive a schoolbus,
school activity bus, youth bus, general public para-transit vehicle, or farm labor
vehicle shall submit a report of a medical examination of the applicant given not
more that two years prior to the date of the application by a physician licensed to
practice medicine, a licensed advanced practice nurse qualified to perform a
medical examination, or a licensed physician assistant. The report shall be on a
form approved by the Department, the Federal Highway Administration, or the
Federal Aviation Administration.

(b) Schoolbus drivers, within the same month, or reaching 65 years of age
and each 12" month thereafter, shall undergo a medical examination, pursuant
to Section 12804.9, and shall submit a report of the medical examination on a
form specified in subsection (a).
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