

PO Box 944210, Sacramento, CA 94244-2100 P (916) 322-3350 | www.rn.ca.gov



CALIFORNIA BOARD OF REGISTERED NURSING GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS AND APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS REGARDING NURSE ANESTHETIST (NA) CERTIFICATION

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

I. General Application Requirements

Nurse Anesthetist certification eligibility requires the possession of a current, clear and active California RN license. The following must be submitted to the Board of Registered Nursing for Nurse Anesthetist certification purposes:

- 1. A completed Online Application for Nurse Anesthetist Certification.
- 2. Nurse Anesthetist certification fee of \$500.00.
- 3. Required documentation to determine certification eligibility. Please refer to the application requirements for Nurse Anesthetist certification (Page 5).

If you do not possess a current, clear and active California RN license and have never applied for a California RN license, an Application for California RN Licensure by Endorsement must also be submitted. If you have had a permanent California RN license, you must renew/reactivate the California RN license.

Nurse Anesthetist application fee is an earned fee; therefore, when an applicant is found ineligible the application fee is not refunded. Processing times for certification may vary, depending on the receipt of documentation from academic programs and associations/national organizations. Processing a Nurse Anesthetist certification application indicating disciplinary action(s) and/or voluntary surrender(s) may take longer. A pending application file is not a public record; therefore, an applicant must sign a release of information before the Board of Registered Nursing will release information to the public, including employers, relatives or other third parties. Once you are certified, your address of record must be disclosed to the public upon request. All requests for information are mandatory.

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS (CONT'D)

II. Name and/or Address Changes

California Code of Regulations, Section 1409.1 requires that you notify the Board of Registered Nursing of all name and address changes within thirty (30) days of any change. You may call the Board of Registered Nursing regarding the change of address of record. If you have changed your name, please submit a letter of explanation regarding the requested name change plus applicable documentation such as a copy of a marriage certificate, divorce decree or a driver's license.

III. U.S. Social Security Number and Individual Taxpayer ID Number (ITIN)

Disclosure of your U.S Social Security Number/ITIN is mandatory. Section 30 of the Business and Professions Code and Public Law 94-455 (42 USCA 405 (c)(2)(C)) authorize collection of your U.S. Social Security Number/ITIN will be used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for purposes of compliance with any judgment or order for family support in accordance with Section 11350.6 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, or for verification of licensure, certification or examination status by a licensing or examination entity which utilizes a national examination and where licensure is reciprocal with the requesting state. If you fail to disclose your U.S. Social Security Number/ITIN, your application for initial or renewal of licensure/certification will not be processed. You will be reported to the Franchise Tax Board, who may assess a \$100 penalty against you.

<u>ALERT:</u> Effective July 1, 2012, the Board of Registered Nursing is required to deny an application for licensure and to suspend the license/certification/registration of any applicant or licensee who has outstanding tax obligations due to the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) of the State Board of Equalization (BOE) and appears on either the FTB or BOE's certified lists of top 500 tax delinquencies over \$100.00. (AB 1424, Perea, Chapter 455, Statues of 2011)

IV. Reporting ALL Discipline(s) and/or Voluntary Surrender(s) Against Licenses/Certificates

All disciplinary action(s) and/or voluntary surrender(s) against an applicant's clinical nurse specialist, registered nurse, practical nurse, vocational nurse or other professional license/certificate must be reported.

Failure to report prior disciplinary action(s) and/or voluntary surrender(s) is considered falsification of application and is grounds for denial of licensure/certification or revocation of license/certificate.

When reporting prior disciplinary action(s) and/or voluntary surrender(s), **applicants are required to provide a full written explanation of:** circumstances surrounding the disciplinary action(s) and/or voluntary surrender(s) and the date of disciplinary action(s) and/or voluntary surrender(s). State board determinations/decisions should also be included.

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS (CONT'D)

NOTE: Applicants must also submit a description of the rehabilitative changes in their lifestyle which would enable them to avoid future occurrences.

To make a determination in these cases, the Board of Registered Nursing considers the nature and severity of the offense, additional subsequent acts, recency of acts or crimes, compliance with court sanctions and evidence of rehabilitation.

The burden of proof lies with the applicant to demonstrate acceptable documented evidence of rehabilitation. Examples of rehabilitation evidence include, but are not limited to:

- Recent dated letter from applicant describing rehabilitative efforts or changes in life to prevent future problems.
- Letters of reference on official letterhead from employers, nursing instructors, health professionals, professional counselors, parole or probation officers, or other individuals in positions of authority who are knowledgeable about your rehabilitation efforts.
- Letters from recognized recovery programs and/or counselors attesting to current sobriety and length of time of sobriety, if there is a history of alcohol or drug abuse.
- Proof of community work, schooling, self-improvement efforts.

All of the above items should be mailed <u>directly</u> to the Board of Registered Nursing by the individual(s) or agency who is providing information about the applicant. Have these items sent to the Board of Registered Nursing, Licensing Unit – Advanced Practice Certification (NA), P.O. Box 944210, Sacramento, CA 94244-2100.

It is the responsibility of the applicant to provide sufficient rehabilitation evidence on a timely basis so that a certification determination can be made.

An applicant is also required to immediately report, in writing, to the Board of Registered Nursing any disciplinary action(s) and/or voluntary surrender(s) which occur between the date the application was filed and the date that a California Nurse Anesthetist certificate is issued. Failure to report this information is grounds for denial of licensure/certification or revocation of license/certificate.

NOTE: The application must be completed and signed by the applicant under penalty of perjury.

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS (CONT'D)

V. Temporary Nurse Anesthetist Certificate

The Temporary Nurse Anesthetist Certificate (TC/NA) is only applicable for the Nurse Anesthetist certification applicant who does not possess a **permanent California RN license at the time of application.**

The Nurse Anesthetist certification applicant may apply for the TC/NA (Page 10) to bridge the processing time of two (2) to four (4) months for the fingerprint clearances so that he/she may work in California as soon as eligible.

Eligibility for the TC/NA is based on the possession of a temporary California RN license (TL), a complete California RN Licensure by Endorsement application pending the fingerprint clearances that will be processed by the California Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) and a complete Nurse Anesthetist certification application.

VI. Address Information

The Board of Registered Nursing's mailing address is:

Advanced Practice Unit – NA Certification Board of Registered Nursing P. O. Box 944210 Sacramento, CA 94244-2100

The Board of Registered Nursing's street address for overnight mail is:

Advanced Practice Unit – NA Certification Board of Registered Nursing 1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 150 Sacramento, CA 95834

VII. California Nursing Practice Act

California statutes and regulations pertaining to Registered Nurses/Nurse Anesthetists may be obtained by contacting:

LexisNexis at:

www.lexisnexis.com/bookstore (search: California Nursing)

APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR NURSE ANESTHETIST (NA) CERTIFICATION

Nurse Anesthetist certification eligibility is based on the completion of a nurse anesthesia academic program approved by the Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Education Programs and current certification/recertification by the National Council on Certification/Recertification of Nurse Anesthetists.

Documentation submitted <u>directly</u> to the Board of Registered Nursing:

- **1.** Verification of Nurse Anesthetist Certification by a National Organization/Association form submitted by the national association. (Page 8)
- **2.** Verification of the Completion of a Nurse Anesthesia Academic Program <u>form</u> submitted by the nurse anesthesia program. (Page 7)
- **3.** Official transcripts for the completed nurse anesthesia academic program submitted by the nurse anesthesia academic program.

The national organization/association listed below has met the certification requirements that are equivalent to the Board's standards for nurse anesthetist certification:

COUNCIL ON CERTIFICATION/RECERTIFICATION OF NURSE ANESTHETISTS

222 South Prospect, Park Ridge, IL 60068 (847) 692-7050 (Above Information Subject to Change)

VIII. HONORABLY DISCHARGED MEMBERS OF THE U.S. ARMED FORCES RECEIVE EXPEDITED REVIEW

Notwithstanding any other law, on and after July 1, 2016, a board within the department shall expedite, and may assist, the initial licensure process for an applicant who supplies satisfactory evidence to the board that the applicant has served as an active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States and was honorably discharged (Business and Professions Code section 115.4.).

If you would like to be considered for this expedited review and process, please provide the following documentation with your application:

1. Report of Separation form.

The report of separation form issued in most recent years is the **DD Form 214, Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty**. Before January 1, 1950, several similar forms were used by the military services, including the WD AGO 53, WD AGO 55, WD AGO 53-55, NAVPERS 553, NAVMC 78PD and the NAVCG 553.

Information shown on the Report of Separation may include the service member's date and place of entry into active duty, date and place of release from active duty, last duty assignment and rank, military job specialty, military education, total creditable service, separation information, etc.

IX. EXPEDITED LICENSURE PROCESS FOR REFUGEES, ASYLEES, AND HOLDERS OF SPECIAL IMMIGRANTS VISAS (SIVS)

Individuals seeking an expedited licensure process as required by Business and Professions Code section 135.4. Beginning January 1, 2021, individuals in the following categories may have their applications expedited:

- 1. Refugees pursuant to section 1157 of title 8 of the United States Code;
- 2. Those granted asylum by the Secretary of Homeland Security or the Attorney General of the United States pursuant to section 1158 of title 8 of the United States Code; or,
- 3. Individuals with a special immigrant visa that have been granted a status pursuant to section 1244 of Public Law 110-181, Public Law 109-163, or section 602(b) of title VI of division F of Public Law 111-8.

In order to receive the expedited licensure process, individuals must provide evidence of their refugee, asylee, or special immigrant visa status when submitting their application package. Documentation below are examples that can be used:

- Form I-94, Arrival/Departure Record, with an admission class code such as "RE" (Refugee) or "AY" (Asylee) or other information designating the person a refugee or asylee.
- Special immigrant visa that includes the classification codes of "SI" or "SQ."
- Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), commonly known as a "Green Card," with a category designation indicating that the person was admitted as a refugee or asylee.
- An order from a court of competent jurisdiction or other documentary evidence that provides reasonable assurance that the applicant qualifies for expedited licensure.

Failure to provide documentation may result in a delay in expediting the application review.

Please note that this does not mean a license/registration must be issued, but simply that the process will be expedited.



PO Box 944210, Sacramento, CA 94244-2100 P (916) 322-3350 I <u>www.rn.ca.gov</u>



VERIFICATION OF THE COMPLETION OF A NURSE ANESTHESIA (NA) ACADEMIC PROGRAM

the Nurse Anesthesia acad	emic program for conferred and must l	ompletion. Official transfer to the sent directly to the	anscripts subm e Board of Re	ind forward to the program d itted must include all comple gistered Nursing by the Reg pts. Please print or type.	ted course work with the		
Name:			Previous Names (Including Maiden Name):				
41							
(Last) Address:	(First)	(Middle)	Date of Bi	irth:			
(City)	Number & Street) (State)	(Zip Code)	U.S. Socia ID Numbe	al Security Number or	Day) (Year) Individual Taxpayer		
Telephone Number:	(Claid)	(E.P 6646)	California RN License Number:				
Home ()	Work ()	Expiration Date:				
Name of Nurse Anes	thesia Acaden	nic Program:					
Entrance and Completion Dates:				Type of Program:			
Signature of Applica		E DDOCDAM	Date:Date:Date:				
	EMIC PROGRA			rding the above named app			
Name of Nurse Anes	thesia Acaden	nic Program:		Telephone Number:			
Address:				l .			
(Number &	Street)	(City)		(State)	(Zip Code)		
Type of Program:	☐ Cert	ificate	☐ Maste	r's ☐ Post-	Master's		
Entrance and Compl	etion Dates:	From:	n) (Day)	To: (Month)	(Day) (Year)		
Date Certificate/Deg (If conferral date and			ript, please	explain.)			
I certify under penalty program for the above				ng the completion of th	ne nurse anesthesia		
Signature:	ure:Date:						



PO Box 944210, Sacramento, CA 94244-2100 P (916) 322-3350 I <u>www.rn.ca.gov</u>



VERIFICATION OF NURSE ANESTHETIST (NA) CERTIFICATION BY A NATIONAL ORGANIZATION/ASSOCIATION

A. TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT: Please complete Part A and submit to the applicable national organization/association to verify your nurse anesthetist certification status. A fee may be required by the national organization/association for the processing of the verification form. Please print or type.						
Name:		Previous	Names (Includ	ing Maiden Name):		
(Last) (First)	(Middle)					
Address:		Date of Birth:				
(Number & Street)		(Month) (Day) (Year)				
(City) (State)	(Zip Code)	U.S Social ID Number	•	mber or Individual Taxpaye		
Telephone Number:	(=.p 0000)	California RN License Number:				
Home () Work ()	Expiration Date:				
Name of Nurse Anesthesia Academ	ic Program:		. Dato:			
Entrance and Completion Dates:		Type of Program:				
Signature of Applicant:	Date	3 :				
B. TO BE COMPLETED BY THE CERTIFYING NATIONAL ORGANIZATION/ASSOCIATION: Please complete Part B regarding the above named applicant and return to the Board of Registered Nursing.						
Name of Certifying National Organia			Telephone Number:			
				()		
Address:			Metho	d of Certification:		
(Number & Street) (City)	(State)	(Zip Code))			
Certificate Number:	Origin	al Date of Certification:				
Current Renewal Cycle Dates for Control (If not applicable, please explain.)	ertification/Recertit	fication: F	rom: (Month)	To: (Year) (Month) (Year)		
I certify under penalty of perjury that the documentation regarding the nurse anesthetist certification status for the above named applicant is true and correct.						
Signature:		Date:				
Title:)	_(OFFICIAL SEAL)		



PO Box 944210, Sacramento, CA 94244-2100 P (916) 322-3350 I <u>www.rn.ca.gov</u>



INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS

The Information Practices Act, Section 1798.17 Civil Code, requires the following information to be provided when collecting information from individuals.

Agency Name:

BOARD OF REGISTERED NURSING

Title of official responsible for information maintenance:

EXECUTIVE OFFICER

Address: Telephone Number:

P.O. BOX 944210, SACRAMENTO, CA 94244-2100

(916) 322-3350

Authority which authorizes the maintenance of the information:

SECTION 30, SECTION 2732.1(a), BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE

ALL INFORMATION IS MANDATORY.

The consequences, if any of not providing all or any part of the requested information:

FAILURE TO PROVIDE ANY OF THE REQUESTED INFORMATION WILL RESULT IN THE APPLICATION BEING REJECTED AS INCOMPLETE.

The principal purpose(s) for which the information is to be used:

TO DETERMINE ELIGIBILITY FOR LICENSURE. YOUR U.S. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER/ITIN WILL BE USED FOR PURPOSES OF TAX ENFORCEMENT, CHILD SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT AND VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE AND EXAMINATION STATUS. SECTION 30 OF THE BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE AND PUBLIC LAW 94-455 (42 USCA 405(c)(2)(C)) AUTHORIZE COLLECTION OF YOUR U.S. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER/ITIN. IF YOU FAIL TO DISCLOSE YOUR U.S. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER/ITIN, YOU WILL BE REPORTED TO THE FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, WHICH MAY ASSESS A \$100 PENALTY AGAINST YOU. YOUR NAME AND ADDRESS LISTED ON THIS APPLICATION WILL BE DISCLOSED TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST IF AND WHEN YOU BECOME LICENSED.

Any known or foreseeable interagency or intergovernmental transfer which may be made of the information:

POSSIBLE TRANSFER TO LAW ENFORCEMENT, OTHER GOVERNMENT AGENCIES AND REPORTING U.S. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER/ITIN TO THE FRANCHISE TAX BOARD OR FOR CHILD SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT PURPOSES PURSUANT TO SECTION 30 OF THE BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE.

EACH INDIVIDUAL HAS THE RIGHT TO REVIEW THE FILES ON RECORDS MAINTAINED ON THEM BY THE AGENCY, UNLESS THE RECORDS ARE EXEMPT FROM DISCLOSURE.

(Rev 1/19) 1

MANDATORY REPORTER

Under California law each person licensed by the Board of Registered Nursing is a "Mandated Reporter" for child abuse or neglect purposes. Prior to commencing his or her employment, and as a prerequisite to that employment, all mandated reporters must sign a statement on a form provided to him or her by his or her employer to the effect that he or she has knowledge of the provisions of Section 11166 and will comply with those provisions.

California Penal Code Section 11166 requires that all mandated reporters make a report to an agency specified in Penal Code Section 11165.9 [generally law enforcement agencies] whenever the mandated reporter, in his or her professional capacity or within the scope of his or her employment, has knowledge of or observes a child whom the mandated reporter knows or reasonably suspects has been the victim of child abuse or neglect. The mandated reporter must make a report to the agency immediately or as soon as is practicably possible by telephone, and the mandated reporter must prepare and send a written report thereof within 36 hours of receiving the information concerning the incident.

Failure to comply with the requirements of Section 11166 is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in a county jail, by a fine of one thousand dollars (\$1,000), or by both imprisonment and fine.

For further details about these requirements, consult Penal Code Section 11164, and subsequent sections.

(Rev 1/19) 2