

ENDORSEMENT APPLICATION FEES & INSTRUCTIONS

ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.

The total fees payable to the Board of Registered Nursing depend on your application method:

Method 1 - US GRADUATE

Method 1 is for applicants who completed a nursing program within the United States or a US territory.

APPLICATION: \$350.00 TEMPORARY LICENSE (OPTIONAL): \$100.00 FINGERPRINT CARD (IF OUT OF STATE): \$49.00

SUBMIT TOTAL APPLICABLE PAYMENT TO THE BOARD ONLINE VIA BREEZE.

Method 2 - INTERNATIONAL GRADUATE

Method 2 is for applicants who completed a nursing program outside of the United States of America or U.S. territory.

APPLICATION: \$750.00
TEMPORARY LICENSE (OPTIONAL): \$100.00
FINGERPRINT CARD (IF OUT OF STATE): \$49.00

SUBMIT TOTAL APPLICABLE PAYMENT TO THE BOARD ONLINE VIA BREEZE.

For applicants submitting fingerprints by electronic Live Scan, you will pay the appropriate fingerprinting fees to the Live Scan operator where you have your fingerprints taken (do not submit the fingerprint card fee to the Board). You must use a Live Scan site located in California to use this method. The Board will NOT be able to receive results for Live Scan fingerprints taken at Live Scan locations that are outside of California.

PLEASE NOTE: there are two (2) ways to complete the fingerprint requirement:

Electronic Live Scan **OR** Fingerprint Card (Hard Card)

Please refer to Section 3 of these application instructions for more information on the fingerprint requirement.

Endorsement Application Requirements Checklist

Applica	nts must provide the following:		
	Appropriate Fees (see Applica	tion Fee Schedule).	
	Online Application for Licens	sure by Endorsement	
	(Hard Card) processing met	either the Live Scan Process or the Applicant Fingerprin hod as directed in the INSTRUCTIONS FOR SUBMITT it the appropriate non-refundable TOTAL FEE as directed dule.	TING A
	visit www.nursys.com to comp	ense form OR if your board of nursing participates in Nu plete a paperless verification online. International graduate in the board of nursing where the examination was taken	es must
	Transcripts sent directly from	your school of nursing.	
		nd/or letters explaining disciplinary action and attes d in Section II of the General Information and Instruction	
	For International Graduates	onl <u>y</u> :	
	our school with the Requ form to your certified tran Application Instructions f B) Submit a copy of your lice	ducational Program for International Nursing Programmest for Transcript form. Also, provide the Certified English Translator if your transcript is not in English. (See Supplemental or International Graduates.) ense or diploma that allows you to practice professional nureducated. Also, provide copies of your certificates for midwipplicable.	ranslation I rsing in the
	E	oard Address & Web Site	
	<u>Mailing</u> Address:	Board of Registered Nursing P.O. Box 944210 Sacramento, CA 94244-2100	
	Street Address:		
		Board of Registered Nursing 1747 North Market Blvd., Suite 150 Sacramento, CA 95834	
	Web Site:	www.rn.ca.gov	
	The Nursing P	ractice Act (NPA) is available on the Board's web site.	
	• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •	s are answered on the web site. Due to the heavy volum ard, we encourage use of the web site to avoid busy signa	

CALIFORNIA BOARD OF REGISTERED NURSING APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE AS A REGISTERED NURSE

General Information and Instructions

By Endorsement

I. INTRODUCTION

To qualify for endorsement into California as a registered nurse, you must hold a current and active license in another state or Canada, have completed an educational program meeting all California requirements, <u>and</u> have passed the national licensure examination or acceptable five-part Canadian examination. The Canadian Comprehensive Examination is not acceptable. <u>If you do not possess these qualifications, you must apply for licensure by examination</u>. Please contact the Board of Registered Nursing at (916) 322-3350 to request an application for examination or download the application from the Board's web site at <u>www.rn.ca.gov</u>.

<u>Note</u>: If you are seeking licensure in California as a Licensed Vocational Nurse, please contact the Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians at (916) 263-7800. You may also visit their web site at www.bvnpt.ca.gov.

PLEASE NOTE THE FOLLOWING IMPORTANT ISSUES:

- Processing times may vary, depending on when the Board receives documents from schools, agencies, and other states or countries. The time to process an application indicating a prior discipline may take <u>longer</u> than other applications. Delays may also occur with the fingerprint processing by the Department of Justice (DOJ) and/or the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).
- If you change your name and/or address after submitting an application for licensure, you must notify the Board <u>immediately</u> in order to receive current information. Applicants are required to submit legal documentation of a name change to the Board. Examples of acceptable forms of legal documentation are a birth certificate, marriage certificate, divorce decree, and/or court documents, social security card or passport. A copy of a driver's license is <u>not</u> acceptable.
- Pending application files <u>are not public record</u>, therefore an applicant must sign and submit a release of information before the Board will release information to the public (employers, relatives, or other third parties).
- Once you are licensed, your address of record must be disclosed to the public upon request, under California law.
- Applicant fees are earned; therefore, fees are <u>non-refundable</u> even if an applicant is found ineligible.

(Rev 6/20)

II. REPORTING PRIOR DISCIPLINE AGAINST LICENSES

All disciplinary action against an applicant's registered nurse, practical nurse, vocational nurse or other health care related license or certificate must be reported.

Failure to report prior disciplinary action is considered falsification of application and is grounds for denial of licensure or revocation of license.

When reporting prior disciplinary action, applicants are required to provide a full written explanation of: circumstances surrounding the disciplinary action(s) and the date of disciplinary action(s). For disciplinary proceedings against any license as a RN or any health-care related license; include copies of state board determinations/decisions, citations and letters of reprimand.

To make a determination in these cases, the Board considers the nature and severity of the offense, additional subsequent acts, recency of acts or crimes, compliance with court sanctions, and evidence of rehabilitation.

The burden of proof lies with the applicant to demonstrate acceptable documented evidence of rehabilitation. Examples of rehabilitation evidence include, but are not be limited to:

- Recent, dated letter from applicant describing the event and rehabilitative efforts or changes in life to prevent future problems or occurrences.
- Recent and signed letters of reference on official letterhead from employers, nursing instructors, health professionals, professional counselors, parole or probation officers, Support Group Facilitators or sponsors, or other individuals in positions of authority who are knowledgeable about your rehabilitation efforts.
- Letters from recognized recovery programs and/or counselors attesting to current sobriety and length of time of sobriety, if there is a history of alcohol or drug abuse.
- Submit copies of recent work evaluations.
- Proof of community work, schooling, self-improvement efforts.

All of the above items should be mailed <u>directly</u> to the Board by the individual(s) or agency who is providing information about the applicant. Have these items sent to the Board of Registered Nursing, Licensing Unit, P.O. Box 944210, Sacramento, CA 94244-2100.

It is the responsibility of the applicant to provide sufficient rehabilitation evidence on a timely basis so that a licensing determination can be made. All evidence of rehabilitation must be submitted prior to being found eligible for licensure.

An applicant is also required to immediately report, in writing, to the Board any disciplinary action(s) which occur between the date the application was filed and the date that a California registered nursing license is issued. Failure to report this information is grounds for denial of licensure or revocation of license.

NOTE: The application must be completed and signed by the applicant under the penalty of perjury.

III. INSTRUCTIONS FOR SUBMITTING A FINGERPRINT CARD OR LIVE SCAN PROCESS

All applicants for licensure by endorsement are required to complete and submit one (1) set of fingerprints. All requests from the Board of Registered Nursing for background checks of applicants must be submitted to the Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) either by Live Scan <u>or</u> on an Applicant Fingerprint Card (Hard Card). The Applicant Fingerprint Card (Hard Card) <u>or</u> Request for Live Scan Service Applicant Submission form (BCII 8016) must be submitted in the <u>same</u> <u>name</u> as shown on your application for endorsement.

The fingerprints remain on file with the California Department of Justice, who provides reports to the Board of Registered Nursing of any future convictions on an ongoing basis.

There are **two (2) methods available** for completing the fingerprint requirement:

Method 1 -- Live Scan Process

For licensees residing in California, the Board of Registered Nursing recommends you use Live Scan to submit your fingerprints in order to shorten the time for your fingerprint process. Licensees must complete and submit the Request for Live Scan Service Applicant Submission form (BCII 8016) at a Live Scan site. You may request for a Live Scan form to be sent to you by e-mail by using our online request form at https://www.dca.ca.gov/webapps/rn/requests.php. Take the form to a Live Scan site within California for processing. Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) guidelines requires applicants to complete a criminal history background check AFTER they have submitted their application.

Processing Fee for Live Scan Service:

The fee for the Live Scan service varies, so please contact the Live Scan site directly to obtain the correct information. To see a listing of the California Department of Justice (DOJ) applicant Live Scan agency locations, fees and hours of operation, go to www.ag.ca.gov/fingerprints/publications/contact.php.

When using the Live Scan process, the fingerprint processing fee must be paid at the Live Scan site when you provide your live scan fingerprints. <u>Do not send your fingerprint processing fee to the Board.</u> Please be aware that these processing fees are in addition to the "rolling" fee charged by the Live Scan operator.

Once your fingerprints have been scanned and you have completed the required sections, the Live Scan operator will keep one copy and return the second and third copies to you. Typically, the Board receives results without issue; however if there is an error with receiving your results, the Board may ask you for a copy of your completed Live Scan form. Submit a copy to the Board only if you are asked to submit a copy. You may retain the third copy for your records.

Using Live Scan can speed your licensure because the Board receives fingerprint results from this new technology much quicker than through the manual fingerprint card process. On average, Live Scan results take 1-2 weeks, while manual fingerprint cards can take 1-2 months. (Processing times at DOJ and FBI vary.)

Method 2 -- Applicant Fingerprint Card (Hard Card)

You may request one fingerprint card by on of the below methods:

- 1. Logging into your BreEZe account and selecting "Hard Card Fingerprint payment" under the "Choose Application" section. Once you complete this Online transaction and pay the \$49 processing fee (if not already paid, the FD-258 hard card will be mailed to the address of record in your BreEZe account. Please allow 7-10 business days for the card to arrive to your address.
- 2. Using our Fingerprint Request Form available on the website (please allow up to two weeks to receive a hard card in the mail once the hard card request is received and processed, which is approximately 3-5 business days after submission of the request).

The FD-258 card is the official fingerprint card produced and approved by the FBI. The current version of this card contains the full Privacy Act Statement, as required by the FBI.

3

For detailed information on completing the manual fingerprinting card, please see Instructions for Completing a Fingerprint Card.

III. INSTRUCTIONS FOR SUBMITTING A FINGERPRINT CARD OR LIVE SCAN PROCESS - (continued)

To facilitate prompt and accurate processing of the fingerprint card by the DOJ and FBI, type or print legibly in BLACK INK all required information on the fingerprint card. The eight (8) required fields are listed on page 2 of the "Instructions for Completing a Fingerprint Card".

Each applicant <u>MUST</u> have his/her fingerprints imprinted only in BLACK INK on fingerprint card. Fingerprints should be taken at an authorized fingerprint location. There may be a rolling fee for this service.

<u>DO NOT FOLD FINGERPRINT CARD</u>. Use a 9" X 12" envelope to return your completed fingerprint card with fees (if not already paid). Write "DO NOT FOLD" on the envelope. If your fingerprint card is folded, you may be required to complete and submit a new fingerprint card. THIS WILL CAUSE A DELAY IN DETERMINING YOUR ELIGIBILITY FOR LICENSURE.

Fingerprint Processing Fee for Applicant Fingerprint Card (Hard Card):

The fingerprint processing fee is in addition to the application fee. This fee is non-refundable and is subject to change by the DOJ and FBI without notice.

The appropriate fingerprint processing fee is payable to the Board of Registered Nursing by paying online when you submit your application in BreEZe, or by check or money order in U.S. currency. The application fee and fingerprint fee may be combined and submitted online when submitting y9our initial application for licensure or by submitting one check or money order in U.S. currency to the Boards address. (See Licensure by Endorsement fee schedule.)

There must be a clearance of the fingerprinting requirement before a permanent registered nurse license will be issued to endorsement applicants.

IV. U.S. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER & TAX INFORMATION

Disclosure of your U.S. Social Security Number or individual taxpayer identification number (ITIN) is mandatory. Section 30 of the Business and Professions Code and Public Law 94-455 (42 USC section (c)(2)(C)) authorize collection of your U.S. Social Security Number/ITIN. Your U.S. Social Security Number/ITIN will be used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for purposes of compliance with any judgment or order for family support in accordance with Section 11350.6 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, or for verification of licensure or examination status by a licensing or examination entity which utilizes a national examination where licensure is reciprocal with the requesting state. If you fail to disclose your U.S. Social Security Number/ITIN, your application for initial or renewal license will not be processed. You will also be reported to the Franchise Tax Board, which may assess a \$100 penalty against you. Questions regarding the Franchise Tax Board should be directed to (800) 852-5711.

<u>ALERT</u>: Effective July 1, 2012, the Board of Registered Nursing is required to deny an application for licensure and to suspend the license/certificate/registration of any applicant or licensee who has outstanding tax obligations due to the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) or the State Board of Equalization (BOE) and appears on either the FTB or BOE's certified lists of top 500 tax delinquencies over \$100,000. (AB 1424, Perea, Chapter 455, Statutes of 2011).

V. TEST OF ENGLISH AS A FOREIGN LANGUAGE (TOEFL)

Proof of passage of an English comprehension examination if you are from a non-English speaking country or did not take your country's licensing examination in English. Passage of the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) is acceptable. It is suggested that if you decide to take the TOEFL, you should apply as soon as possible as it takes several months from the time of filing until your TOEFL results are received. TOEFL is located at P.O. Box 6151, Princeton, NJ 08541-6151; phone number (609) 771-7100. You may also visit their web site at www.toefl.org.

(Rev 1/25) 4

VI. GENERAL INFORMATION ON LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT

Endorsement is the licensure method for registered nurses who have previously been licensed in another state in the United States and for some Canadian registered nurse licensees. To qualify for licensure by endorsement, you must meet <u>all</u> of the following requirements:

- 1. Completion of the nursing program in an accredited school of professional nursing which meets <u>all</u> of California's educational requirements. If you are deficient in any requirement, you <u>must</u> make up the deficiency prior to becoming licensed.
- 2. Passage of the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX) or the State Board Test Pool Examination (SBTPE) for Registered Nurses in the United States, or the five-part licensing examination in Canada. The Canadian Comprehensive Examination is <u>not</u> acceptable. An English comprehension examination is required if you did not take the Canadian examination in English. Passage of the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) is acceptable for English competency. TOEFL is located at P.O. Box 6151, Princeton, NJ 08541-6151; phone number (609) 771-7100. You may also visit their web site at www.toefl.org.

International graduates who have not passed one of the acceptable licensing examinations are not eligible for licensure by endorsement and should contact the Board at (916) 322-3350 to request an application for licensure by examination or download the application from the Board's web site at www.rn.ca.gov.

3. Possession of a current and active license from another state in the United States or from Canada. (If you do not have a current license in the other state, it must be updated prior to California licensure.)

VII. <u>VERIFICATION OF LICENSE</u>

There are two (2) methods available for obtaining license verification:

Method 1 - Verification of License form

The state board from which you are submitting proof of clear, current and active RN licensure must complete the enclosed **Verification of License** form. Be sure to include the processing fee that is required by that state.

OR

Method 2 - Nursys® License Verification Request Application

If you are licensed as an RN in a state that is a member of the **Nursys**® verification system, visit www.nursys.com to complete the online verification request application process. Nursys.com applicants can pay by credit card using the secure and private payment system. Once the application is complete and the credit card payment approved, the verification is posted immediately. The fee for verification of an RN license is \$30.

<u>For International Graduates</u>: In addition to obtaining license verification from the state where you hold a <u>current</u> and <u>active</u> license, you must also obtain verification of passage of the appropriate licensing examination from the board of nursing where you took the examination (NCLEX-RN, SBTPE, or five-part licensing examination in Canada).

No telephone verifications will be made. Official license verification must be received <u>in writing</u> from the other state board before a temporary or permanent license can be issued by this board.

VIII. REQUEST FOR TRANSCRIPT

Mail the Request for Transcript form to your nursing school(s) with the fee required by the school. The official transcripts must include <u>all</u> completed coursework and reflect the degree awarded and date conferred. Transcripts are not accepted from applicants or if stamped "issued to student." Transcripts are required from <u>all colleges</u> you attended that reflect courses required for a degree in nursing, including general education course requirements and all nursing courses.

IX. TEMPORARY LICENSE

The Board may issue a Temporary License to practice nursing for a period of six months, allowing an applicant to work pending issuance of a permanent RN license.

Temporary Licenses cannot be issued until the processing of the fingerprint card or live scan has been completed by the Department of Justice (DOJ) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) and the Board has been notified of the results.

To qualify for a Temporary License, the endorsement applicant must submit:

- Appropriate Fees.
- Application for Licensure by Endorsement including a U.S. Social Security and the request for a Temporary License.
- One completed Fingerprint Card (Hard Card) <u>or</u> second copy of the Live Scan Service Applicant Submission form (BCII 8016). Additionally, before a Temporary License can be issued, fingerprint results from the DOJ and the FBI must be received and processed by the Board.
- Verification of License form from the other state(s) or Canada which must be received by the Board via: sealed envelope from State Board of Nursing or a Nursys® Verification Request Application if you are licensed in a state that is a member of the Nursys® verification system as proof of a clear, active, and current RN license.
- If educated outside of the United States, you must submit **official transcripts which include** <u>all</u> completed coursework, the degree awarded and date conferred. Transcripts are not accepted from applicants or if stamped "issued to student." Transcripts are required from <u>all</u> colleges you attended that reflect courses required for a degree in nursing, including general education course requirements and all nursing courses. <u>Transcripts must be reviewed and approved prior</u> to the issuance of a Temporary License.

If you have not received notification of permanent licensure <u>approximately four weeks prior to the expiration</u> of your Temporary License, contact the Board at (916) 322-3350 for instructions on how to apply for a second Temporary License.

X. ADVANCED PRACTITIONERS/PUBLIC HEALTH NURSES

In order to use the title or hold yourself out as a nurse practitioner, psychiatric/mental health nurse, nurse midwife, nurse anesthetist, clinical nurse specialist or public health nurse, California law requires registered nurses to be certified by the Board. If you wish to practice in one of these areas, please request the applicable additional application for certification.

XI. ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY SPOUSES OR PARTNERS RECEIVE EXPEDITED REVIEW

The board is required to expedite the licensure process for an applicant whose spouse or partner is an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces and meets other criteria. (Business and Professions Code section 115.5.) If you would like to be considered for this expedited review and process, please answer the following questions and provide required documentation.

1. Are you married to, or in a domestic partnership or other legal union with, an active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States who is assigned to a duty station in California under official active duty military orders?

If "yes," please attach a copy of the marriage certificate or certified declaration/registration of domestic partnership filed with the Secretary of State AND military orders establishing duty station in California. For other forms of "legal union" not recognized by California, you may submit other documentary evidence of legal union issued by the State that recognizes your legal union for consideration by the board in meeting this requirement.

2. Do you hold a current license in another state, district, or territory of the United States in the profession or vocation for which you seek licensure from the board?

If "yes," please attach a copy of the current license in another state, district, or territory of the United States.

NOTE: Expediting your application does not exempt you from meeting all licensure requirements.

XII. HONORABLY DISCHARGED MEMBERS OF THE U.S. ARMED FORCES RECEIVE EXPEDITED REVIEW

Notwithstanding any other law, on and after July 1, 2016, a board within the department shall expedite, and may assist, the initial licensure process for an applicant who supplies satisfactory evidence to the board that the applicant has served as an active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States and was honorably discharged (Business and Professions Code section 115.4.).

If you would like to be considered for this expedited review and process, please provide the following documentation with your application:

1. Report of Separation form.

The report of separation form issued in most recent years is the **DD Form 214, Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty**. Before January 1, 1950, several similar forms were used by the military services, including the WD AGO 53, WD AGO 55, WD AGO 53-55, NAVPERS 553, NAVMC 78PD and the NAVCG 553.

Information shown on the Report of Separation may include the service member's date and place of entry into active duty, date and place of release from active duty, last duty assignment and rank, military job specialty, military education, total creditable service, separation information, etc.

(Rev 1/19) 7

XIII. <u>EXPEDITED LICENSURE PROCESS FOR REFUGEES, ASYLEES, AND HOLDERS OF SPECIAL IMMIGRANTS VISAS (SIVS)</u>

Individuals seeking an expedited licensure process as required by Business and Professions Code section 135.4. Beginning January 1, 2021, individuals in the following categories may have their applications expedited:

- 1. Refugees pursuant to section 1157 of title 8 of the United States Code;
- 2. Those granted asylum by the Secretary of Homeland Security or the Attorney General of the United States pursuant to section 1158 of title 8 of the United States Code; or,
- 3. Individuals with a special immigrant visa that have been granted a status pursuant to section 1244 of Public Law 110-181, Public Law 109-163, or section 602(b) of title VI of division F of Public Law 111-8.

In order to receive the expedited licensure process, individuals must provide evidence of their refugee, asylee, or special immigrant visa status when submitting their application package. Documentation below are examples that can be used:

- Form I-94, Arrival/Departure Record, with an admission class code such as "RE" (Refugee) or "AY" (Asylee) or other information designating the person a refugee or asylee.
- Special immigrant visa that includes the classification codes of "SI" or "SQ."
- Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), commonly known as a "Green Card," with a category designation indicating that the person was admitted as a refugee or asylee.
- An order from a court of competent jurisdiction or other documentary evidence that provides reasonable assurance that the applicant qualifies for expedited licensure.

Failure to provide documentation may result in a delay in expediting the application review.

Please note that this does not mean a license/registration must be issued, but simply that the process will be expedited.

8

(Rev 1/21)



VERIFICATION OF LICENSE

- Send this form to the State Board of Nursing where you have a current and active license. The board of nursing may require a processing fee. If you are licensed as an RN in a state that is a member of the Nursys verification system, visit www.nursys.com to complete the online verification request application process.
- INTERNATIONAL GRADUATES: Send form to the state of current license. If you took the examination in a different state, make a copy

of this form and send the form to the					-			
PART I: To be completed by Al	PPLICANT and forwar	ded to a	ppropriat	te licensing l				
Name: (Last, First, Middle)			Previo			ous Names: (Including Maiden)		
Current Street Address of Record:					II.	State:		Zip Code:
Name as it Appeared on Original	llicense: (Last First N	Aiddle)	Date of	Birth: (Mont)	n/Dav/Year)	U.S. Social Se	ecurit	v Number or
Traine as it / ippoured on original	(2001, 7 // 101, 7	maaro)	iddle) Date of Birth: (Month/Day/Year)			Individual Taxpayer ID Number:		
	T					L		
State of Current Licensure:	Issue Date of Curre	nt Licen	se:		Current Licens	se Number:		
State of Original Licensure:	Issue Date of Origin	nal Licen	se:		Original Licen	se Number:		
	Doordo of Numeiros to a		!		as California Da	and of Domint	d	Ni
I hereby authorize all identified E	soards of Nursing to i	reiease n	ny licensi	ure data to ti	ne California Bo	ard of Registi	erea	Nursing.
Signature:					[)ate:		
PART II: To be completed by lice	ensing board and ser	t to the	California	Board of R	egistered Nursi	ng listed at the	e top	of this form.
This is to certify that this applica	ant was issued a licen	se numb	er to pra	ctice as a re	aistered nurse:		•	
			to p. u		g			
Applicant Name:					Date Issued:			
License Number:	License Number: Expiration Date:							
Licensed by:	Endorsement	Exa	aminatior	n 🗆	Waiver			
Current Licensure Status:	Active	=	ctive	=	Lapsed			
Has license ever been REVOKED					•		'es	□ No
	· ·	u on PK	OBATION	i, di Disciri	Reinstat	_	es 'es	☐ No
If yes, please attach certified do	cuments.						62	□ NO
					Date Rei	nstated:		
Is there any PENDING disciplinary action or pending investigation against this licensee?								
If yes, please attach information. Name of Professional Nursing Profess		hy State	2	Graduated	from:			
Name of Professional Nursing P	Yes		No			S. Equivalenc	., <u> </u>	10th Grade
		_			<u> </u>	O. Equivalenc	у	
Location: (City, State/Country)	Graduatio	on Date:		1 📛	rsing Program			
				L ADN	DIP	BSN L	MSN	Other
Examination Passed:								
	BTPE Canad	dian Five	-Part		Taken in Engl		Yes	☐ No
Scores: SBTPE/Canadian		01	4.4.4.	B. P. C.	5	Series or E	xam	Date:
	ledical Surgical	Obs	tetric	Pediatric	Psychiatric			
NCLEX-RN								
		_	_					
Signature:					Title:			
Roard of Nursing					Data			
Board of Nursing:					Date:			

[BOARD SEAL]





MIDDLE NAME:

REQUEST FOR TRANSCRIPT

P (916) 322-3350 | F (916) 574-8637 | www.rn.ca.gov

TO APPLICANT: Send this form to your basic school(s) of nursing. If you need to contact more than one school, this form may be reproduced. Transcripts are required from each school where nursing requirements or general education courses were completed. Transcripts must include all completed coursework, clinical practice of training and reflect the degree awarded. Your school may require a processing fee.

FIRST NAME:

A. TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT

LAST NAME:

ADDRESS: Num	ber and Street				DATE OF BIRTH: (Month/Day/Year)
City		State	Country	Postal/Zip Code	U.S. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER or INDIVIDUAL TAXPAYER ID NUMBER:
PREVIOUS NAMES: (In	cluding Maiden)	,			
NAME OF PROFESSION	NAL REGISTERED NU	JRSING SC	CHOOL:		YEARS ATTENDED:
LOCATION: City		State	Country	Postal/Zip Code	YEAR GRADUATED:
SIGNATURE OF APP	PLICANT:				DATE:
	TED BY THE OF	FICE OF	THE SCHOO	OL OFFICIAL RI	ELEASING TRANSCRIPTS
The above applicant has	TED BY THE OFF applied for a license to complete official trans	FICE OF o practice a	THE SCHOO	DL OFFICIAL RI nurse in California. I Board of Registered	ELEASING TRANSCRIPTS Please provide the following Nursing at the above address.
The above applicant has information and attach a	TED BY THE OFF applied for a license to complete official trans	FICE OF o practice a script. Plea IPLETION DA	THE SCHOO as a registered ase mail to the TE OF THE REGIS	DL OFFICIAL RI nurse in California. I Board of Registered TERED NURSING PROG	ELEASING TRANSCRIPTS Please provide the following Nursing at the above address.
The above applicant has information and attach a DO NOT SIGN OR SUBMIT TO	applied for a license to complete official transmissions to complete DIPLOMA/	FICE OF o practice a script. Plea IPLETION DA DEGREE	THE SCHOO as a registered ase mail to the TE OF THE REGIS AWARDED:	DL OFFICIAL RI nurse in California. I Board of Registered TERED NURSING PROG DATE NURSING	Please provide the following Nursing at the above address. RAM. G REQUIREMENTS COMPLETED:
The above applicant has information and attach a DO NOT SIGN OR SUBMIT TO ENTRANCE DATE:	applied for a license to complete official transmissions to complete DIPLOMA/	FICE OF o practice a script. Plea IPLETION DA DEGREE	THE SCHOO as a registered ase mail to the TE OF THE REGIS AWARDED:	DL OFFICIAL RI nurse in California. I Board of Registered TERED NURSING PROG DATE NURSING	Please provide the following Nursing at the above address. RAM. G REQUIREMENTS COMPLETED:
The above applicant has information and attach a DO NOT SIGN OR SUBMIT TO ENTRANCE DATE: If degree received prices	applied for a license to complete official transmission of the complete of t	FICE OF o practice a script. Plea IPLETION DA DEGREE	THE SCHOO as a registered ase mail to the ate of the regis AWARDED: m, list name of	DL OFFICIAL RI nurse in California. I Board of Registered TERED NURSING PROG DATE NURSING of school and type	Please provide the following Nursing at the above address. RAM. G REQUIREMENTS COMPLETED: of degree: TYPE OF DEGREE:

Nursing Programs form. Transcripts received from the school in a foreign language will require an English translation by a certified translator or translation service. The original foreign language transcript and the English translation of the transcript must both be sent to the Board of Registered Nursing.



TO: ALL APPLICANTS EDUCATED OUTSIDE THE UNITED STATES

FROM: CALIFORNIA BOARD OF REGISTERED NURSING

SUBJECT: SUPPLEMENTAL APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

Applicants who have graduated from schools outside the United States may face unique problems as they attempt to complete their application for California licensure. This document is intended to provide suggestions and information to assist with those special problems.

Application Submission

The Board strongly recommends that you try to ensure that your application, school transcript(s), and all other required documents reach the Board as soon as possible to prevent delays in issuing an interim permit, temporary or permanent license. In some instances, delays and difficulties may be encountered when requesting documentation for those who have graduated from an international nursing program.

In many cases, the Board must obtain additional information from the school in order to clarify course content and/or curriculum requirements. We may also request clarification for the amount of theory and clinical training completed. Also, additional information is required if the applicant is the <u>first graduate</u> from their school of nursing to apply for California licensure. The schools curriculum, catalogs and/or other documents may be requested to evaluate the programs content (these items are in addition to the individuals nursing transcripts.)

Obtaining additional information from the school may take from <u>one to six months</u>, depending on the responsiveness of the school and allowing for mail time. All requirements must be met in order for an interim permit or permanent license to be issued.

Requesting Transcripts

When submitting the "Request for Transcript" form to your school of nursing, please include the "Breakdown of Educational Program for International Nursing Programs" form. Both forms do not take the place of a complete, official transcript. The transcripts should include all completed coursework (both theoretical and clinical practice). All training documents must come directly from the school of nursing. Training documents from applicants are not acceptable.

Commission of Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS)

The Board does not require applicants to pass the Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) examination in order to be licensed in California. Although, if you have been evaluated by CGFNS, the Board <u>will accept official copies</u> of your nursing transcripts (including the clinical portion of your training) from this organization. Requests must be made in writing to CGFNS by contacting them at (215) 222-8454 or 3600 Market Street, Suite 400, Philadelphia, PA 91904-2651. You may also visit their website at <u>www.cgfns.org</u>.



Translation of International Academic Credentials

For the Board to fairly evaluate compliance with California requirements, any applicant with non-English, non-U.S. academic credentials must provide both 1) original, certified transcripts and 2) certified translations of those original transcripts and academic documents. **Original language transcripts must be forwarded directly from the school of nursing and sent directly to the Board (photocopies are not accepted).** When requesting official transcripts and academic documents, an applicant whose education was completed at an institution in a bilingual country where English is one of the official languages, may be able to avoid the necessity of arranging for a translation by asking the school to generate an English language version of the transcript. Please note that in this instance, the original language transcript must accompany the English translation and be forwarded directly to the Board.

Applicants must have their transcripts translated by an independent, professional translator who is not related to the applicant. Each translator must provide an original declaration with each translation attesting to his/her fluency in the particular language and certifying under penalty of perjury that the translation is complete and accurate to the best of the translator's ability and knowledge. (See attached form.) The Board refers applicants with non-English academic credentials to one of the following sources for translation:

- 1. Translator accredited by the American Translators Association (ATA): The ATA accredits individual translators by examination. Although accreditation is available only to individuals, ATA membership includes not only individuals but also companies that employ accredited translators. An accredited translator must sign the translation and declaration in the presence of a Notary Public, unless the translation is a service provided by a known translation agency which affixes the document with its own official seal. ATA membership includes accredited translators residing in the US, Canada, Mexico, and overseas. Although the ATA does not make referrals, a listing of accredited translators and member companies is available through its web site at www.atanet.org. The ATA may be reached by phone at 703-683-6100 or by e-mail at ata@atanet.org.
- 2. Certified or registered court interpreter: Some state court systems offer examinations for certification or registration of court interpreters. In California, the Judicial Council is charged with these functions. Information on court interpreters is available through the Judicial Council at 415-865-7530. General information is available via its web site, www.courtinfo.ca.gov. The Judicial Council has contracted with Cooperative Personnel Services (CPS) for examination and certification of Certified Administrative Hearing and Medical Interpreters. A master list of these interpreters is available at the CPS web site, www.cps.ca.gov, or telephone at 916-263-3600. The court interpreter must sign the translation and declaration in the presence of a Notary Public. Applicants residing outside California but within the United States may call the National Center for State Courts at 757-259-1517 for information on certification and registration of interpreters in other states.

Applicants who present documents in a language for which accredited translators or certified/registered court interpreters are not readily available may require special assistance. The usual next step is to inquire at the nearest consulate representing the nation in which the documents originated.





CERTIFIED ENGLISH TRANSLATION

LAST NAME:	FIRST NAME:		MIDDLE NAME:
PREVIOUS NAMES: (Including Maiden)		DATE OF	BIRTH: (Month/Day/Year)
TO BE COM	IPLETED BY TRAN	SLATOR	
I,	owledge and belief t	, solemnly he English uage docu	declare, under penal n-language translation ments named below a
Please list translated documents belo	ow: (i.e. transcripts, lid	cense, dipl	oma, curriculum, etc.)
These documents have been translated to	by:		
		(Print Na	me)
Please list translator's qualifications, cert	ifications and accredita	tions below	;
I certify, under penalty of perjury under to provided is true, correct and co			
		this dat	e
(City/State or Country)	-0.4		
Name and Address of Translation Ager	icy:		
Telephone Numl	ber:		
	Site:		
Signature of Translato			



BOARD OF REGISTERED NURSING POBox 944210, Sacramento, CA 94244-2100 P (916) 322-3350 | F (916) 574-8637 | www.rn.ca.gov



BREAKDOWN OF INTERNATIONAL NURSING EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM

PRINT OR TYPE	Must be complete	ed and submi			nursing pr		
STUDENT'S LAST NAME: DATE OF BIRTH: (Month/Day/Year) P		FIRST NAME:			MIDDLE NAME:		
		PREVIOUS	PREVIOUS NAMES: (Including Maiden)		HIGH SCHOOL GRADUATION: (Year)		
NAME AND LOCATION	OF PROFESSION	AL REGISTE	RED NURSIN	S SCHOOL:			
ENTRANCE DATE:			GRA	DUATION DATE:	<u> </u>		
LANGUAGE OF INSTRU	JCTION:						
All of the information redescription(s)** stated be							ne course
,	COURS NUMBER <u>or</u>	E	THEORY HOURS OF INSTRUCTIO	SKILLS L SIMULA HOURS	AB, or TION OF CTION	CLINICAL PRACTICE HOURS OF INSTRUCTION IN HOSPITAL	ONLI CLINIC PRAC
(Do Not Leave		e Blank)	(Total Hour	al Hours) (Total H		(Total Hours)	comple online
NERAL PSYCHOLOGY CIAL SCIENCE ATOMY & YSIOLOGY & LAB CROBIOLOGY & LAB DICAL NURSING ** RGICAL NURSING ** STETRIC NURSING DIATRIC NURSING							
* Provide clarification if o	clinical coursework	was comple	ted Online in lie	eu of direct patien	t care hou	ırs.	
** Send course description Failure to submit course						nursing areas.	
SIGNATURE OF SCH	OOL OFFICIAL	:				DATE:	



INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS

The Information Practices Act, Section 1798.17 Civil Code, requires the following information to be provided when collecting information from individuals.

Agency Name:

BOARD OF REGISTERED NURSING

Title of official responsible for information maintenance:

EXECUTIVE OFFICER

Address: Telephone Number:

P.O. BOX 944210, SACRAMENTO, CA 94244-2100

(916) 322-3350

Authority which authorizes the maintenance of the information:

SECTION 30, SECTION 2732.1(a), BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE

ALL INFORMATION IS MANDATORY.

The consequences, if any of not providing all or any part of the requested information:

FAILURE TO PROVIDE ANY OF THE REQUESTED INFORMATION WILL RESULT IN THE APPLICATION BEING REJECTED AS INCOMPLETE.

The principal purpose(s) for which the information is to be used:

TO DETERMINE ELIGIBILITY FOR LICENSURE. YOUR U.S. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER/ITIN WILL BE USED FOR PURPOSES OF TAX ENFORCEMENT, CHILD SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT AND VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE AND EXAMINATION STATUS. SECTION 30 OF THE BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE AND PUBLIC LAW 94-455 (42 USC section (c)(2)(C)) AUTHORIZE COLLECTION OF YOUR U.S. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER/ITIN. IF YOU FAIL TO DISCLOSE YOUR U.S. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER/ITIN, YOU WILL BE REPORTED TO THE FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, WHICH MAY ASSESS A \$100 PENALTY AGAINST YOU. YOUR NAME AND ADDRESS LISTED ON THIS APPLICATION WILL BE DISCLOSED TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST IF AND WHEN YOU BECOME LICENSED.

Any known or foreseeable interagency or intergovernmental transfer which may be made of the information:

POSSIBLE TRANSFER TO LAW ENFORCEMENT, OTHER GOVERNMENT AGENCIES AND REPORTING U.S. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER/ITIN TO THE FRANCHISE TAX BOARD OR FOR CHILD SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT PURPOSES PURSUANT TO SECTION 30 OF THE BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE.

EACH INDIVIDUAL HAS THE RIGHT TO REVIEW THE FILES ON RECORDS MAINTAINED ON THEM BY THE AGENCY, UNLESS THE RECORDS ARE EXEMPT FROM DISCLOSURE.

(Rev 1/19) 1

MANDATORY REPORTER

Under California law each person licensed by the Board of Registered Nursing is a "Mandated Reporter" for child abuse or neglect purposes. Prior to commencing his or her employment, and as a prerequisite to that employment, all mandated reporters must sign a statement on a form provided to him or her by his or her employer to the effect that he or she has knowledge of the provisions of Section 11166 and will comply with those provisions.

California Penal Code Section 11166 requires that all mandated reporters make a report to an agency specified in Penal Code Section 11165.9 [generally law enforcement agencies] whenever the mandated reporter, in his or her professional capacity or within the scope of his or her employment, has knowledge of or observes a child whom the mandated reporter knows or reasonably suspects has been the victim of child abuse or neglect. The mandated reporter must make a report to the agency immediately or as soon as is practicably possible by telephone, and the mandated reporter must prepare and send a written report thereof within 36 hours of receiving the information concerning the incident.

Failure to comply with the requirements of Section 11166 is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in a county jail, by a fine of one thousand dollars (\$1,000), or by both imprisonment and fine.

For further details about these requirements, consult Penal Code Section 11164, and subsequent sections.

(Rev 1/19) 2