

<u>APPLICATION FEE SCHEDULE FOR EXAMINATION</u>

(8-YEAR RETAKE)

ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.

Application must be submitted Online through BreEZe.

The portion of the fee for processing the fingerprint card or Live Scan process is subject to change without notice by the California Department of Justice.

PLEASE NOTE: There are two (2) methods available for completing the fingerprint

requirement:

Method 1: <u>Live Scan</u> Application Process

OR

Method 2: Fingerprint Card (Hard Card) Application Process

The fees payable to the Board of Registered Nursing depend on which fingerprint process you select.

Method 1		Method 2	
LIVE SCAN		FINGERPRINT CARD	
APPLICATION PROCESS		APPLICATION PROCESS	
Online Application Fee	\$ 350.00	Online Application Fee One Fingerprint Card	\$ 350.00 \$ 49.00
TOTAL FEE:	\$ 350.00	TOTAL FEE:	\$ 399.00

SUBMIT TOTAL APPLICABLE PAYMENT TO THE BOARD ONLINE VIA BREEZE.

For applicants submitting fingerprints by electronic Live Scan, you will pay the appropriate fingerprinting fees to the Live Scan operator where you have your fingerprints taken (do not submit the fingerprint card fee to the Board). You must use a Live Scan site located in California to use this method. The Board will NOT be able to receive results for Live Scan fingerprints taken at Live Scan locations that are outside of California.

PLEASE NOTE: there are **two (2) ways** to complete the fingerprint requirement:

Electronic Live Scan **OR** Fingerprint Card (Hard Card)

Please refer to Section 3 of these application instructions for more information on the fingerprint requirement.

Examination Application Requirements Checklist (8-Year Retake)

Applicants	must provide the following:
	Appropriate Fees.
	Online Application for Licensure by Examination (8-YEAR RETAKE)
	Completed fingerprints using either the Live Scan Process or the Applicant Fingerprint Card (Hard Card) processing method as directed in the INSTRUCTIONS FOR SUBMITTING A FINGERPRINT CARD. Submit the appropriate non-refundable TOTAL FEE as directed on the attached Application Fee Schedule.
	Completed Request for Accommodation of Disabilities form(s), if applicable. Click on the Accommodation of Disabilities link on this web site for instructions and forms.
	Request For Transcript form(s) completed and forwarded directly from the nursing school(s) with certified transcripts.
	If applicable, documents and/or letters explaining prior convictions or disciplinary action and attesting to your rehabilitation as directed in Section II of the General Information and Instructions.

Board Address & Web Site

Mailing Address: Board of Registered Nursing

P.O. Box 944210

Sacramento, CA 94244-2100

Street Address for overnight or in-person delivery:

Board of Registered Nursing 1747 North Market Blvd., Suite 150

Sacramento, CA 95834

Web Site: www.rn.ca.gov

The Nursing Practice Act (NPA) is available on the Board's web site.

Many licensing questions are answered on the web site. Due to the heavy volume of telephone calls to the Board, we encourage use of the web site to avoid busy signals or long waits.

CALIFORNIA BOARD OF REGISTERED NURSING APPLICATION FOR EXAMINATION

8-YEAR RETAKE

General Information and Instructions

I. INTRODUCTION

If eight years have passed following the expiration date of a license, a licensee shall be required to pass the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-RN) to determine current clinical knowledge and fitness to resume the practice of professional nursing.

The NCLEX-RN is administered by Computerized Adaptive Testing (CAT) and is designed to test knowledge, skills and abilities essential to the safe and effective practice of nursing at the entry level. With CAT, there is continuous, year-round testing, allowing eligible candidates to schedule their own examination on a date and at the location of their choice. Examination applicants should submit their application to the Board at least six to eight weeks prior to when they wish to take the examination to allow time for processing and receipt of all required documents. Note: Application processing times vary depending on workload volumes received.

The Board will evaluate your application and, if found eligible, you will be provided with important and detailed instructions regarding the registration process with the NCLEX testing service.

PLEASE NOTE: All NCLEX examination registrations with the NCLEX testing service will remain effective for a 365-day time period. Candidates who are not made eligible by our Board within the 365-day time period will forfeit their registration and fee with the NCLEX testing service. The Board encourages candidates to wait until they are made Board eligible before registering with the NCLEX testing service.

PLEASE NOTE THE FOLLOWING IMPORTANT ISSUES:

- Processing times may vary, depending on when the Board receives documents from schools, agencies, and other states or countries. The time to process an application indicating a prior conviction(s) may take <u>longer</u> than other applications. Delays may also occur with the fingerprint processing by the Department of Justice (DOJ) and/or the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).
- If you change your name and/or address after submitting an application for licensure, you must notify the Board <u>immediately</u> in order to receive current information. Applicants are required to submit legal documentation of a name change to the Board. Examples of acceptable forms of legal documentation are a birth certificate, marriage certificate, divorce decree, and/or court documents, social security card or passport. A copy of a driver's license is <u>not</u> acceptable.
- PLEASE NOTE: Your name must match EXACTLY as it appears on your photo identification that
 you will present at the test center. The same name must also be provided to the NCLEX test
 service at the time you register in order to prevent delays with issuing your Authorization to Test.
- Pending application files <u>are not public record</u>, therefore an applicant must sign and submit a release of information before the Board will release information to the public (employers, relatives, or other third parties).
- Your address of record must be disclosed to the public upon request, under California law.
- Applicant fees are earned; therefore, fees are <u>non-refundable</u> even if an applicant is found ineligible.

II. REPORTING PRIOR DISCIPLINE AGAINST LICENSES

All disciplinary action against an applicant's registered nurse, practical nurse, vocational nurse or other health care related license or certificate must be reported.

<u>Failure to report disciplinary action is considered falsification of application and is grounds for denial of licensure or revocation of license.</u>

For disciplinary proceedings against any license as a RN or any health-care related license; include copies of state board determinations/decisions, citations and letters of reprimand.

To make a determination in these cases, the Board considers the nature and severity of the offense, additional subsequent acts, recency of acts or crimes, compliance with court sanctions, and evidence of rehabilitation.

The burden of proof lies with the applicant to demonstrate acceptable documented evidence of rehabilitation. Examples of rehabilitation evidence include, but are not be limited to:

- Recent, dated letter from applicant describing the event and rehabilitative efforts or changes in life to prevent future problems or occurrences.
- Recent and signed letters of reference on official letterhead from employers, nursing instructors, health professionals, professional counselors, parole or probation officers, Support Group Facilitators or sponsors, or other individuals in positions of authority who are knowledgeable about your rehabilitation efforts.
- Letters from recognized recovery programs and/or counselors attesting to current sobriety and length of time of sobriety, if there is a history of alcohol or drug abuse.
- Submit copies of recent work evaluations.
- Proof of community work, schooling, self-improvement efforts.

All of the above items should be mailed <u>directly</u> to the Board by the individual(s) or agency who is providing information about the applicant. Have these items sent to the Board of Registered Nursing, Licensing Unit, P.O. Box 944210, Sacramento, CA 94244-2100.

It is the responsibility of the applicant to provide sufficient rehabilitation evidence on a timely basis so that a licensing determination can be made. All evidence of rehabilitation must be submitted prior to being found eligible for licensure.

An applicant is also required to immediately report, in writing, to the Board any c disciplinary action(s) which occur between the date the application was filed and the date that a California registered nursing license is issued. Failure to report this information is grounds for denial of licensure or revocation of license.

NOTE: The application must be completed and signed by the applicant under the penalty of perjury.

(Rev 5/2022)

III. INSTRUCTIONS FOR SUBMITTING A FINGERPRINT CARD *OR* LIVE SCAN PROCESS

All applicants for licensure by endorsement are required to complete and submit one (1) set of fingerprints. All requests from the Board of Registered Nursing for background checks of applicants must be submitted to the Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) either by Live Scan <u>or</u> on an Applicant Fingerprint Card (Hard Card). The Applicant Fingerprint Card (Hard Card) <u>or</u> Request for Live Scan Service Applicant Submission form (BCII 8016) must be submitted in the <u>same</u> <u>name</u> as shown on your application for endorsement.

The fingerprints remain on file with the California Department of Justice, who provides reports to the Board of Registered Nursing of any future convictions on an ongoing basis.

There are two (2) methods available for completing the fingerprint requirement:

Method 1 -- Live Scan Process

For licensees residing in California, the Board of Registered Nursing recommends you use Live Scan to submit your fingerprints in order to shorten the time for your fingerprint process. Licensees must complete and submit the Request for Live Scan Service Applicant Submission form (BCII 8016) at a Live Scan site. You may request for a Live Scan form to be sent to you by e-mail by using our online request form at https://www.dca.ca.gov/webapps/rn/requests.php. Take the form to a Live Scan site within California for processing. Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) guidelines requires applicants to complete a criminal history background check AFTER they have submitted their application.

Processing Fee for Live Scan Service:

The fee for the Live Scan service varies, so please contact the Live Scan site directly to obtain the correct information. To see a listing of the California Department of Justice (DOJ) applicant Live Scan agency locations, fees and hours of operation, go to www.ag.ca.gov/fingerprints/publications/contact.php.

When using the Live Scan process, the fingerprint processing fee must be paid at the Live Scan site when you provide your live scan fingerprints. Do not send your fingerprint processing fee to the Board. Please be aware that these processing fees are in addition to the "rolling" fee charged by the Live Scan operator.

Once your fingerprints have been scanned and you have completed the required sections, the Live Scan operator will keep one copy and return the second and third copies to you. Typically, the Board receives results without issue; however if there is an error with receiving your results, the Board may ask you for a copy of your completed Live Scan form. Submit a copy to the Board only if you are asked to submit a copy. You may retain the third copy for your records.

Using Live Scan can speed your licensure because the Board receives fingerprint results from this new technology much quicker than through the manual fingerprint card process. On average, Live Scan results take 1-2 weeks, while manual fingerprint cards can take 1-2 months. (Processing times at DOJ and FBI vary.)

Method 2 -- Applicant Fingerprint Card (Hard Card)

You may request one fingerprint card by on of the below methods:

- 1. Logging into your BreEZe account and selecting "Hard Card Fingerprint payment" under the "Choose Application" section. Once you complete this Online transaction and pay the \$49 processing fee (if not already paid, the FD-258 hard card will be mailed to the address of record in your BreEZe account. Please allow 7-10 business days for the card to arrive to your address.
- 2. Using our Fingerprint Request Form available on the website (please allow up to two weeks to receive a hard card in the mail once the hard card request is received and processed, which is approximately 3-5 business days after submission of the request).

The FD-258 card is the official fingerprint card produced and approved by the FBI. The current version of this card contains the full Privacy Act Statement, as required by the FBI.

For detailed information on completing the manual fingerprinting card, please see Instructions for Completing a Fingerprint Card.

III. <u>INSTRUCTIONS FOR SUBMITTING A FINGERPRINT CARD OR LIVE SCAN PROCESS</u> - (continued)

To facilitate prompt and accurate processing of the fingerprint card by the DOJ and FBI, type or print legibly in BLACK INK all required information on the fingerprint card. The eight (8) required fields are listed on page 2 of the "Instructions for Completing a Fingerprint Card".

Each applicant <u>MUST</u> have his/her fingerprints imprinted only in BLACK INK on fingerprint card. Fingerprints should be taken at an authorized fingerprint location. There may be a rolling fee for this service.

<u>DO NOT FOLD FINGERPRINT CARD</u>. Use a 9" X 12" envelope to return your completed fingerprint card with fees (if not already paid). Write "DO NOT FOLD" on the envelope. If your fingerprint card is folded, you may be required to complete and submit a new fingerprint card. THIS WILL CAUSE A DELAY IN DETERMINING YOUR ELIGIBILITY FOR LICENSURE.

Fingerprint Processing Fee for Applicant Fingerprint Card (Hard Card):

The fingerprint processing fee is in addition to the application fee. This fee is non-refundable and is subject to change by the DOJ and FBI without notice.

The appropriate fingerprint processing fee is payable to the Board of Registered Nursing by paying online when you submit your application in BreEze, or by check or money order in U.S. currency. The application fee and fingerprint fee may be combined and submitted online when submitting y9our initial application for licensure or by submitting one check or money order in U.S. currency to the Boards address. (See Licensure by Examination fee schedule.)

There must be a clearance of the fingerprinting requirement before a permanent registered nurse license will be issued to endorsement applicants.

IV. U.S. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER & TAX INFORMATION

<u>Disclosure of your U.S. Social Security Number or individual taxpayer identification number (ITIN) is mandatory.</u> Section 30 of the Business and Professions Code and Public Law 94-455 (42 USC section (c)(2) (C)) authorize collection of your U.S. Social Security Number or ITIN. Your U.S. Social Security Number/ITIN will be used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for purposes of compliance with any judgment or order for family support in accordance with Section 11350.6 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, or for verification of licensure or examination status by a licensing or examination entity which utilizes a national examination where licensure is reciprocal with the requesting state. If you fail to list your U.S. Social Security Number/ITIN, your application for initial or renewal license will not be processed. You will also be reported to the Franchise Tax Board, which may assess a \$100 penalty against you. Questions regarding the Franchise Tax Board should be directed to (800) 852-5711.

ALERT: Effective July 1, 2012, the Board of Registered Nursing is required to deny an application for licensure and to suspend the license/certificate/registration of any applicant or licensee who has outstanding tax obligations due to the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) or the State Board of Equalization (BOE) and appears on either the FTB or BOE's certified lists of top 500 tax delinquencies over \$100,000.(AB 1424, Perea, Chapter 455, Statutes of 2011).

V. HONORABLY DISCHARGED MEMBERS OF THE U.S. ARMED FORCES RECEIVE EXPEDITED REVIEW

Notwithstanding any other law, on and after July 1, 2016, a board within the department shall expedite, and may assist, the initial licensure process for an applicant who supplies satisfactory evidence to the board that the applicant has served as an active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States and was honorably discharged (Business and Professions Code section 115.4.).

If you would like to be considered for this expedited review and process, please provide the following documentation with your application:

1. Report of Separation form.

The report of separation form issued in most recent years is the **DD Form 214, Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty**. Before January 1, 1950, several similar forms were used by the military services, including the WD AGO 53, WD AGO 55, WD AGO 53-55, NAVPERS 553, NAVMC 78PD and the NAVCG 553.

Information shown on the Report of Separation may include the service member's date and place of entry into active duty, date and place of release from active duty, last duty assignment and rank, military job specialty, military education, total creditable service, separation information, etc.

VI. EXPEDITED LICENSURE PROCESS FOR REFUGEES, ASYLEES, AND HOLDERS OF SPECIAL

IMMIGRANTS VISAS (SIVS)

Individuals seeking an expedited licensure process as required by Business and Professions Code section 135.4. Beginning January 1, 2021, individuals in the following categories may have their applications expedited:

- 1. Refugees pursuant to section 1157 of title 8 of the United States Code;
- 2. Those granted asylum by the Secretary of Homeland Security or the Attorney General of the United States pursuant to section 1158 of title 8 of the United States Code; or,
- Individuals with a special immigrant visa that have been granted a status pursuant to section 1244 of Public Law 110-181, Public Law 109-163, or section 602(b) of title VI of division F of Public Law 111-8.

In order to receive the expedited licensure process, individuals must provide evidence of their refugee, asylee, or special immigrant visa status when submitting their application package. Documentation below are examples that can be used:

- Form I-94, Arrival/Departure Record, with an admission class code such as "RE" (Refugee) or "AY" (Asylee) or
 other information designating the person a refugee or asylee.
- Special immigrant visa that includes the classification codes of "SI" or "SQ."
- Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), commonly known as a "Green Card," with a category designation indicating that the person was admitted as a refugee or asylee.
- An order from a court of competent jurisdiction or other documentary evidence that provides reasonable assurance that the applicant qualifies for expedited licensure.

Failure to provide documentation may result in a delay in expediting the application review.

Please note that this does not mean a license/registration must be issued, but simply that the process will be expedited.

(Rev 1/21)

VII. CANDIDATES WITH DISABILITIES – REQUEST FOR ACCOMMODATIONS

The California Fair Employment and Housing Act¹ ("FEHA") grants qualified individuals with disabilities who participate in the examination process protection from unlawful discrimination.

More specifically, the FEHA protects individuals with physical or mental disabilities, cosmetic disfigurement or anatomical loss or individuals regarded as or with a record of any disability who is able to perform the essential functions in an examination setting for the NCLEX-RN with or without an accommodation. A disability is a limitation of a major life activity that makes achievement difficult, requires special education or services, or affects social activities or interactions. Impairments that are not disabilities are sexual behavior disorders, compulsive gambling, kleptomania, pyromania, substance abuse disorders resulting from current and unlawful use of controlled substance.

While the board is not required to allow an accommodation that fundamentally alters the nature of the examination, the board will grant any reasonable accommodation and engage in an interactive process with each applicant who requests an accommodation to ensure that individuals with disabilities are able to meaningfully participate in the examination process.

The board will make any reasonable modifications to its policies, practices, and procedures to accommodate an individual with a disability.

The board is not able to provide reasonable accommodations to individuals unless the board is made aware of the individual's need. An applicant who needs an accommodation to be able to participate in the examination, must advise the board by the time of application for the examination. This notification should include sufficient documentation to enable the board to determine whether or not the requested accommodation is reasonable and will not fundamentally alter the nature of the examination.

The board is prohibited by law from requiring an individual with a disability to accept an accommodation if the individual chooses not to accept it.

If you have a disability which may require accommodations of the examination process or access to the examination center, you must submit with your application the following REQUIRED information:

- 1. A **REQUEST FOR ACCOMMODATION OF DISABILITIES** form completed and signed by the applicant. This form is available under the Accommodation of Disabilities link on this web site.
- 2. A **PROFESSIONAL EVALUATION AND DOCUMENTATION OF A DISABILITY** form completed and signed by a professional evaluator <u>or</u> equivalent information on original letterhead stationery of the evaluator. This form is available under the Accommodation of Disabilities link on this web site.
- 3. If applicable, a **NURSING PROGRAM VERIFICATION** form indicating what accommodation(s) were granted in testing procedures during the nursing program. This form should be completed and signed by the nursing program Dean or Director or their designee <u>or</u> equivalent information on original letterhead stationery of the nursing program. This form is available under the Accommodation of Disabilities link on this web site.

The required information must be completed and submitted <u>with</u> your application or your examination could be delayed. If you have any questions, you may contact the Testing Coordinator by writing to the Board address, Attn: Testing Coordinator, or by calling (916) 322-3350.

Any examination accommodations, including aids brought into the testing center must have **pre-approval** of the Board.

¹The California Fair Employment and Housing Act as amended by AB2222, Government Code section 12900 et seq. effective January 1, 2001, grants applicants participating in a licensure examination more protection from unlawful discrimination than the federal Americans With Disabilities Act.

(Rev 1/19)



INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS

The Information Practices Act, Section 1798.17 Civil Code, requires the following information to be provided when collecting information from individuals.

Agency Name:

BOARD OF REGISTERED NURSING

Title of official responsible for information maintenance:

EXECUTIVE OFFICER

Address: Telephone Number:

P.O. BOX 944210, SACRAMENTO, CA 94244-2100

(916) 322-3350

Authority which authorizes the maintenance of the information:

SECTION 30, SECTION 2732.1(a), BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE

ALL INFORMATION IS MANDATORY.

The consequences, if any of not providing all or any part of the requested information:

FAILURE TO PROVIDE ANY OF THE REQUESTED INFORMATION WILL RESULT IN THE APPLICATION BEING REJECTED AS INCOMPLETE.

The principal purpose(s) for which the information is to be used:

TO DETERMINE ELIGIBILITY FOR LICENSURE. YOUR U.S. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER/ITIN WILL BE USED FOR PURPOSES OF TAX ENFORCEMENT, CHILD SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT AND VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE AND EXAMINATION STATUS. SECTION 30 OF THE BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE AND PUBLIC LAW 94-455 (42 USC section (c)(2)(C)) AUTHORIZE COLLECTION OF YOUR U.S. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER/ITIN. IF YOU FAIL TO DISCLOSE YOUR U.S. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER/ITIN, YOU WILL BE REPORTED TO THE FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, WHICH MAY ASSESS A \$100 PENALTY AGAINST YOU. YOUR NAME AND ADDRESS LISTED ON THIS APPLICATION WILL BE DISCLOSED TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST IF AND WHEN YOU BECOME LICENSED.

Any known or foreseeable interagency or intergovernmental transfer which may be made of the information:

POSSIBLE TRANSFER TO LAW ENFORCEMENT, OTHER GOVERNMENT AGENCIES AND REPORTING U.S. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER/ITIN TO THE FRANCHISE TAX BOARD OR FOR CHILD SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT PURPOSES PURSUANT TO SECTION 30 OF THE BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE.

EACH INDIVIDUAL HAS THE RIGHT TO REVIEW THE FILES ON RECORDS MAINTAINED ON THEM BY THE AGENCY, UNLESS THE RECORDS ARE EXEMPT FROM DISCLOSURE.

(Rev 1/19) 1

MANDATORY REPORTER

Under California law each person licensed by the Board of Registered Nursing is a "Mandated Reporter" for child abuse or neglect purposes. Prior to commencing his or her employment, and as a prerequisite to that employment, all mandated reporters must sign a statement on a form provided to him or her by his or her employer to the effect that he or she has knowledge of the provisions of Section 11166 and will comply with those provisions.

California Penal Code Section 11166 requires that all mandated reporters make a report to an agency specified in Penal Code Section 11165.9 [generally law enforcement agencies] whenever the mandated reporter, in his or her professional capacity or within the scope of his or her employment, has knowledge of or observes a child whom the mandated reporter knows or reasonably suspects has been the victim of child abuse or neglect. The mandated reporter must make a report to the agency immediately or as soon as is practicably possible by telephone, and the mandated reporter must prepare and send a written report thereof within 36 hours of receiving the information concerning the incident.

Failure to comply with the requirements of Section 11166 is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in a county jail, by a fine of one thousand dollars (\$1,000), or by both imprisonment and fine.

For further details about these requirements, consult Penal Code Section 11164, and subsequent sections.

(Rev 1/19) 2